This Week I…

Found out how much I love running partners: Can I run on my own? Yes. Am I able to wake myself up at the crack of dawn and throw on my running shoes? Yes. But having someone to do it with is just more fun. Not only does a running partner give me that extra bit of motivation to drag myself out of bed in the morning but it feels good to have someone to share the early morning/milage pain with me. Camaraderie I do believe it is called :)

Have been waking up earlier to beat the heat. This morning was a 5am wake up call and I was already drenched by the time I hit 2 miles. Somehow I have woken up with loads of energy each day.

Ready to run? Yes! Yes!

Have been incorporating pilates more into my workout routine. Strong abs=strong back= strong body. I can always tell a difference in my running when I’m doing pilates/weight training. I feel so much stronger!

Made some of these.. 

Which end up looking something like this..

Finished my last solo speech for my communications class. I can’t believe the semester ends next Friday. Nuts. I just have one more test and a group speech next week and I’ll be done. Wahoo! This summer is flying.. Bittersweet.

 

Decided that I need this outfit asap: 

 

 

Lucy Propel Shorts    & Lucy Workout Racerback

 

 

 

 

 

These pictures really don’t do the outfit justice. The shorts and top are so unbelievable soft and comfortable. Lately, it has been so stinkin hot and humid that I am soaked by the time I’m finished running and my shorts are sticking to me. Maybe I can buy these pieces for milage rewards.

What do ya think? After 15 miles purchase the shorts and after 16 miles purchase the top? I think it might just have to happen.

Okay, time to start the day. I already ran 5.5 miles this morning. Tomorrow I plan on cross training and then on Sunday I have 14 miles planned!!

I am also going to finish my book this week! Thank goodness.

Have a very happy Thursday!

~Sarah

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “This Week I…

  1. So I have to find you this blog i was just reading that had the best smore recipe ever. something sweet or something like that it is called.
    it has been crazy hot. i am crazy scared about my long run. do you think the shorts will ride up? congrats on almost end of semester woot!! this was random comment sorry

  2. Smore

    smore recipe? Yes, please. It has been insanely hot. I’ve been waking up soo early to get my miles in. I don’t think those shorts would ride up. I hope they don’t!

  3. Casey

    I love the name of your blog. :) And great job on the running–you are inspiring! I agree, I love having a running buddy.

    • Smore

      Well thanks Casey! Running buddy’s are great right? I love being able to catch up with people and get my run in at the same time. Multitasking at it’s best :)

  4. I have also been getting my runs in super early before work. How do you usually handle fueling up before running? Lately, I’ve been waking up at 5, having yogurt with a little bit of cereal, and fruit, getting ready, and heading out the door by 5:40ish. Although I’m not extremely full, I can definitely feel the food in my stomach. I’m wondering if it’s better to just get up and go and eat when I get back. I’m afraid of not having enough energy, though….even on a short 3-5 mile run.

    • Smore

      Well, I’m definitely not an expert but I have had some experience in the fueling department. I would not suggest running on an empty stomach ever. Sometimes I’ll eat just a banana if it’s a shorter run (2-5) and anything longer than that I’ll have some peanut butter with a banana for that extra bit of protein. I also find that bars are really great pre-run fuel especially when I’m time crunched. I’m a big fan of luna bars :) If I do end up going for the lighter pre-run meal (banana) I’ll bring along some gu chomps just in case I run out of steam during my run. I would just do some experimenting and see what works best for you! But definitely make sure you fuel up with something. There’s nothing worse than hitting a wall during a run.

  5. Good luck on your 14 miler this weekend!!

  6. I like the idea of purchasing a cute workout item after reaching a mileage goal! That’s an awesome idea for motivation.

    And PIlates – that is the one workout that I always avoid because it is so tough for me! Go you for getting in on that action. :)

    • Smore

      Pilates is pretty tough but I’ve always loved it! I love that it stretches you out and gives you a great workout.

Leave a Reply

