Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

I’m thinking the weather gods must read my blog because after I published this post complaining all about the weather/I hate winter/wahh wahh I’m a wimp because the sun came out today! It snowed on Friday night meaning I had to run on ice Saturday morning and then I wake up on Sunday and it was 61 degrees with sunshine I haven’t seen since September!

Missouri weather is crazy.

As soon as I woke up on Sunday morning and saw the sunshine I got such a burst of energy and I knew that I had to go for a run. Technically I wasn’t supposed to run according to the ol’ training plan but I cheated and celebrated the weather with a 7 mile run in shorts!

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 1:08:42.7 7.29 9:25
1 9:02.5 1.00 9:03
2 9:01.7 1.00 9:02
3 9:44.0 1.00 9:44
4 9:38.9 1.00 9:39
5 9:37.2 1.00 9:37
6 10:38.3 1.00 10:38
7 8:50.7 1.00 8:51
8 2:09.4 0.29 7:20

One of my goals for this training plan is to really work on my times; not necessarily getting faster but learning how to pace myself to where I start out with an actual warm up and build up speed throughout my run. Clearly my times are all over the place so this is definitely something I need to work on.

After I made it back to my house I stretched (not as much as I should have) showered, puttered around for a bit and then got to work on another crock pot dinner! I decided with the warmer weather it was reason enough to celebrate with mexican food! So, I made a pulled chicken recipe to top a taco salad I had envisioned for dinner.

Crock Pot Pulled Chicken (measure to taste!)

  • Chicken breasts
  • Salsa (I used hot)
  • brown sugar (I used 3-4 tbs)
  • sprite (1/4 of the can)
  • Combination of spices: onion, garlic, chipotle pepper, cumin

Put all ingredients into the crock pot and turn on low for 4-5 hours. Once chicken is cooked through pull apart the chicken with a fork. Place all chicken back into the crock pot and turn on warm. I added a little more salsa to keep the pulled chicken moist.

This recipe was very very easy and the best part is I have leftovers! Love that :)

Now, that it’s Monday I’ve got classes to go to, reading to catch up on and the Bachelor to watch!

Oh, and this is the kind of weather I’m waking up to for the next few days:

Partly cloudy high 50 degree weather in January/February? Sign me up!

Have you had crazy weather where you are this year?

umm yes!

Do you follow a training plan exactly or do you do you mix it up a bit?

I mix it up a bit. I need more cross training than what a plan gives me.

Favorite type of food?

I really do love mexican food! I miss fresh Tex mex more than anything.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

  1. I love good running weather! It makes me excited too! :) Oklahoma has had crazy weather too. A couple of weeks ago it was around 70 degrees! It was amazing, but of course, the cold weather came back! :( I’m definitely ready for spring! I like to follow training plans because I like having a routine, but it sometimes doesn’t go as planned and I’ll add more cross training. I just like being active most days of the week.

  2. I can totally relate. The weather in Wisconsin is NUTS. Last year we had 12+ inches of snow on the ground and today we’re graced with 45 degree weather. I try to follow my training plans to a tee but when nice days come around I lace up and hit the pavement.

    The Bachelor last night was nuts… Courtney has GOT TO GO! I can’t watch it much more with her on there. Have a good week :)

Leave a Reply

