Mouthful

So, we had 3 very large very ripe bananas sitting on our kitchen counter for a few days. Thankfully, somebody in the house was wise and put them into the freezer. I took that as a clue that somebody wanted some banana bread. As I was sitting in my Health Education class today I remembered that I just happen to have dark chocolate chips and peanut butter on hand.

Who am I kidding? I always have chocolate chips and peanut butter on hand.

Anyways, since all I had on my mind today was chocolate chips, peanut butter and bananas there was only one thing left to do after I finished my lab today..

Enter Dark Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Banana Bread (that’s a mouthful)

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • ¼ cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3 TBS brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Spray pan (I used a casserole dish.. don’t judge) with non stick cooking spray and set aside. In a large bowl, whisk all dry ingredients together: flour, baking powder, soda, salt, cinnamon and sugar. Pour in all wet ingredient, minus the chocolate chips. Mix em all together! Stir in the chocolate chips. Pour batter into baking pan and bake! I’m not sure how long this takes because I didn’t really pay attention so just keep an eye on it and make sure you put a tooth pick in it to check to see if it is finished! You should probably also let it cool before you eat it…but this is optional.

Perfect post running fuel if you ask me.

This morning I woke up drank my coffee, ate my banana and toast and set out for a 3 miler.

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 28:13.0 3.01 9:23
1 9:38.8 1.00 9:39
2 9:22.6 1.00 9:23
3 9:08.4 1.00 9:08
4 :03.2 0.01 8:49

 

See those negative splits? That’s right, it happened! My goal to start with a warm up during my first mile has been achieved! Now, hopefully I can keep this up during my longer runs.

I also made sure to do some stretching and a little bit of yoga before I showered and refueled with the DCCPBBB that’s the dark chocolate chip peanut butter banana bread in text language.

What is your favorite thing to bake?

Probably breads!

Do you try and sub out oils and sugars where you can in baked goods? 

Yes!

Do you try and negative split during your runs? 

I try but this has been my first run that actually looks pretty consistent with my times!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Mouthful

  1. BANANA BREAD IS THE BEST!
    Sorry about the all-caps. That’s how strongly I feel about banana bread! It’s just so inherently comforting and awesome.
    I definitely try to sub yogurt and fruit for oil/butter, and I don’t like things super sweet so I almost always half the sugar. That way I can eat more!
    Next time you make banana bread you should try this recipe. It’s not as awesomely comforting as chocolate chips are, but the cardamom topping is like a cocktail party in banana bread form.

    http://fiveandspice.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/ginger-banana-bread-with-cardamom-crunch-topping/

    Nice running and baking! Sounds like you had a great day!

  2. Great job on negative splitting that run! It is a great way to train and will benefit you in a race!
    Great recipe too! Banana bread is just awesome, and I love to sub in apple sauce and healthier oils :)

  3. OK, I’m totally coming over for snack time!

  4. That looks so good! Man, I’m hungry- I wish I had some! :)

    I usually sub in applesauce or yogurt for some of the fat. But then double the chocolate chips whoops.

    Good job on the speedy splits! :)

Leave a Reply

