Border Wars

Funny story: When I first came to Missouri for college I was taking a quiz in my history class. My professor said that for extra credit we had to answer the question: “Who one last year’s border war?” Being from Texas I had no idea that this meant a rivalry with Missouri’s  neighboring state Kansas so I answered Canada.

You can imagine the guy sitting next to me’s facial expression as he was grading my paper.

Doh!

Those were 2 points I was never going to get back.. along with a teensy bit of my pride. Yawinsomeyalosesome

Anyways, the point of that little story was the simple fact that Missouri is playing Kansas in basketball tonight and it is kind of a big deal. This “big deal” rivalry I was made aware of in freshman history is the reason I am up, watching the game wrapped up in my Mizzou blanket and sweatshirt; True Fan.

BUT that’s not the only thing I’m doing tonight. Oh no, this girl had big plans. If you don’t know tomorrow is the superbowl, and as luck would have it my roommates and I have decided to have a superbowl party! Don’t ask me whose playing because I have no earthly idea. But what I can tell you is that tonight I made this cookie dough dip for our little shindig. Oh, it will be a hit.

While I may not know whose all playing in the game tomorrow I can tell you what myself along with all of the rest of the girls will be eating as we watch the commercials, because let’s be real here if I’m going to a superbowl party I expect fantastic food and good quality commercials. So, I plan on taking care of the food portion.

Superbowl Eats 

How Sweet’s: BBQ Beer Chicken

How Sweet’s: Cilantro Lime White Bean Hummus

Skinny Taste: Baked Mozzarella Sticks

Leenee’s: cookie dough dip

Along with whatever other people decide to bring too. So, who knows what we’ll end up with!

Update: Mizzou just won the border war!

I have plans to run 6 miles in the AM!

Off to bed!

Are you a college sports fan?!

Tonight I was! Let’s go TIGERS!

What are your weekend workout plans?

I did 3 miles and pilates today :)

Whose playing in the Super Bowl?!

 

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Border Wars

  1. OMG, I’m jealous of whomever gets to eat your superbowl treats. I’m not big on college sports usually, but am fairly excited for the superbowl. Hope you have fun!

  2. The cookie dough dip sounds AMAZING! I can’t wait to see how it turns out. I guarantee it will be gone fast :)

  3. I hope your six mile run went well this morning! That cookie dough dip sounds really good! :)

  4. I went to Ohio State… so even though I honestly don’t CARE about sports… people still expect me to care about them, haha

Leave a Reply

