Ensalada

Over the last few days I have not been able to sleep.. I don’t know what it is! I’m tired, I go to bed and then my mind will just not turn off… goodness.

That being said coffee has been consumed in large quantities. It’s a good thing I spent the last portion of my Amazon gift card on coffee. Did you know that you can get 32 oz of whole bean coffee for just $20 on Amazon?! I can’t believe I’ve been spending $9-$10 on 8 oz of coffee! Insanity!

After my not so great run on Sunday I deemed Monday my rest day. So, I woke up a solid 3 hours before my class (since I can’t sleep in for the life of me) and just relaxed and puttered around before I had to head to campus for the day.

I did a few genius things yesterday that: 1.) involved my lunch  2.) involved my dinner!

Lunch I will have to save for later but dinner needs to be discussed immediately. After the superbowl party on Sunday I had a ton of leftovers. I’m a product of my parents and haaaate throwing food away. No food goes to waste!  Well, we had some leftover guacamole that I was not willing to part with but knew I had to use that stuff up fast before it went bad.

I immediately thought of one of my favorite salads of all time from this restaurant in Dallas called Taco Diner.  They have this fantastic avocado salad dressing that I have been missing like crazy. I felt like I had some pretty solid ingredients on hand and went for it. I was determined.

First, I started my salad making by sauteing some onions in olive oil, cumin & chili pepper then adding black beans, red pepper and garbanzos. After the onions were slightly browned I added this mixture to my bed of lettuce/spinach and mixed it all together.

Then it was time for the dressing!

Into my little chopper went:

  • left over guacamole
  • the juice of 1 lime
  • a whole handful of cilantro
  • olive oil to taste
  • salt and pepper
  • a little bit of onion

And there you have it: Avocado Lime Mexican Infused Ensalada:

Muy Bien!

Sidenote: I brought this over to a Mizzou basketball watching party last night. Turns on out the game wasn’t on TV sooo on went the bachelor! Thank you ABC for being on basic cable television :) 

Have you ever tried to re-create a dish from a restaurant?

Do you take scheduled rest days from workouts or do you go by how your feeling?

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Ensalada

  1. I usually schedule my days of rest, but last night I took an extra day by how I was feeling. Since I skipped my run, I made myself get out and walk for thirty minutes so that I could say that I did SOMETHING (b/c I was really just being lazy!) Haha!

    Thanks for the amazon/coffee tidbit! I am heading over there now;-)

Leave a Reply

