Meal of Champion

Good Morning! How are we doing today? Good? Great? Everyone happy, healthy, feeling loved? 

Wonderful.

Remember when we talked about planning last month? Ya know when I said how sometimes planning just doesn’t seem to work. Well, lately everything has gone pretty according to plan. I like these days. Planned days make me happy. 🙂

This morning wasn’t really one of those mornings. Don’t get me wrong it wasn’t a terrible morning but a few things through me off my planning game.

Like my alarm clock going off at 6:04 am and me hitting the snooze button (or so I thought) only to wake up at 6:40 am realizing I had actually  hit the off button. Doh! 

I threw on my running clothes I had laid out the night before (good planning strategy right there) and walked down the stairs half awake planning on pouring a cup of freshly brewed coffee that should already be made according to the plan. Except once I got down there I realized I set my programmable coffee machine to 5:47 pm instead of am. Gahhh

“Not to worry though,’ I thought, ‘it’s still 6:45 am.” With a simple press of a button I can have my coffee ready in no time, drink it and be out the door by 7:15 am. How humid could it be? I only have 7 miles planned. Easy cheesy.

While waiting for my coffee to brew I decided that since I was already pretty hungry this morning my gu chomps weren’t going to carry me through my run.

I made myself a little pre run snack: 

I enjoyed my Jif Natural Peanut Butter and banana 🙂 alongside a cup of coffee while reading my running inspirations for the day of course: Hungry Runner Girl & Runner’s Rambles.

I surprised myself at how fast I scarfed everything down. I was hungry this morning! I made it out the door at 7:05 and took off.

Here’s how my run went down this mornin:

  • Mile 1: 9:10 pace
  • Mile 2: 8:45 pace
  • Mile 3: 8:40 pace
  • Mile 4:8:45 pace
  • Mile 5: 9:20 pace
  • Mile 6: 8:30 pace
  • Mile 7: 8:00 pace
  • Mile 7.5: 7:30 pace!!!
I have to say starting out this run I was feeling pretty tight. Luckily, the first two miles were down hill so that give me time to loosen up before I hit the trail. Mile 2-3 was kind of frustrating for me because I felt like I should be feeling loose at this point and was ready to just run but my body wasn’t feelin it today. Somehow my last few miles ended up being my best ones! Which was a pleasant surprise because these were all uphill! I couldn’t believe I finished my run with a 7:30 pace. Wowza!
I think I’m going to have to attribute finishing up my run strong to my PB and banana pre-run snack. It carried me right through those miles like a champ. Thank you JifMeal of a champion!
Today’s 7 miles felt great and I honestly felt like I could have gone a few more miles today. I love those runs! So, even though my day started out slightly less structured than I had anticipated it all worked out wonderfully.
Minus the humidity. Have I mentioned the humidity? 
Do you see the focus on that face? “Make sure you capture all of the sweaty glow”.. Attractive Sarah. 
After finishing up with my stretching and ab work I took a speed shower  so I could eat my breakfast. This running smore works up quite an appetite on her runs lately.
After all of that humidity all I wanted was something cold and fresh. It was a cereal day 🙂 
  • Vanilla yogurt
  • Cinnamon Quaker Oat Squares
  • Kashi Golden Goodness
  • Frozen Banana
  • Pineapple
  • Strawberry
  • Kiwi
Oh yes, just what I needed this morning. This breakfast hit the spot. Do you have a go to meal after breakfast? I’m usually an oatmeal kind of girl but hot oats are not appetizing in the summer time. I need to start making overnight oats. I’m probably the last one to jump on that train! 
Have a Happy Hump Day!
~Sarah
13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Meal of Champion

  1. great job getting out for your run even with sleeping in a little later than planned! Sounds like a good start to the day!

  2. Congrats on such a great run!! I agree pre morning fuel helps a ton!! I have gotten really into post morning smoothies!! hits the spot after a hot run! i love it.

  3. I know what you mean about the humidity! It is killing me! I am usually an oatmeal person as well but it is just too hot. I have moved on the either cereal or like you with the yogurt and granola. Nice Run! I love it when I feel like I can do more.

    • Smore

      Running makes such a difference in the humidity it’s crazy. I think I would still choose training during the summer months than the winter though.

  4. Way to make a morning great! I hate when I wake up late but a great run will turn around any day.

  5. That breakfast looks amazing! I need something that doesn’t involve cooking and won’t wake up my husband (silly blender!!)

  6. Pingback: Happy Friday!!! | readsrecipesruns

  7. a 7:30 pace?!!? Holy cow girl you were FLYING!!!! That’s really incredible. I feel like I have wings on my shoes or something if I even break under 8:30. Good job!

  8. I don’t have your email 😦 so here is my reply to your comment on my blog thanks!
    I know right!!! Thanks for the ideas, I really appreciate it! I finally had a good elliptical workout today, so who knows?!? *Fingers crossed!

  9. Pingback: Just-in-Case | Running On Smores

Leave a Reply

