Motivation Station

Last week one of my friends called  me up wanting to know if I still ran. Still ran? Well, yes! Who do you think I am? Of, course I still run! She wanted to know because she wanted to start running again but was having some trouble with the whole motivation thing. So, I told her not to worry and we set up a morning run for three days this week.

I was a little worried at first because I’ve always been a solo runner for the most part; but, I have to say that I am benefitting from this morning running partner setup just as much as she is. The miles fly by as we chat and it splits up my milage so nicely.

I thought that today I would share a few little tricks I use to help me stay motivated:

Schedule your workouts: If I set up a schedule at the beginning of each with my workout for each day than I know it will get done. If I know what kind of workout I’m doing the next day I have time to mentally prepare for it. This set up works really well for me so I know that I’m not running willy nilly and risking burn out/injury.

Workout in the morning: I have always loved my morning workouts. There is just something about getting up before everyone else and running around town. The peace and quiet before the day gets started. My morning runs become my time. Another benefit to running in the morning is that I know that my body has a full 24 hours to recover before I run again. This is huge because for aehile I had been running at different times throughout the day and found that it really took a toll on my body.

Train for a race: You don’t have to sign up for the next half marathon or marathon in your town but maybe a 5-k fun run, a mud-athalon or tri-athlon of some sort. This way you have a tangible goal to work towards. There is no better feeling than finishing a race that you have spent months training for.

Take rest days: A few weeks ago I was stuck in a serious running rut. Not only did I start training for my marathon way to early but I was running way too much. I took a week off from training and by the time  that week was over I was more than ready to get back at it.

Switch it up: Another contributer to my burn out a few weeks ago was that I was running too much. I needed to add in some cross training days. Now, I run 3-4 days a week and incorporate biking, hiking, walking, strength training and pilates. It keeps things interesting! Variety is the spice of life!

Plan a great breakfast: Who says food is a bad motivator? Not me! Pancakes? Waffles? Oatmeal? Yes, yes and yes! One of my favorite things about my long runs is the time after my long runs. Coming back and doing the whole ice bath thang and then fixing myself up a yummy breakfast is the best.

12 miles: French toast 🙂

14 miles: Pancakes

Yep, I ❤ breakfast.

Milage for the day included my 7 mile run. Having a running partner makes a world of difference. I ran two miles down to the trail we planned to meet to run 3 together. Once we finished I ran the two miles back completing my 7 miles.

It was great. Having someone to run with for the middle 3 miles really split up my run nicely this morning.

Here’s how my run went down: 

  • Mile 1: 8:53 pace
  • Mile 2: 8:30 pace
  • Mile 3: 8:45 pace
  • Mile 4: 8:30 pace
  • Mile 5: 8:50 pace
  • Mile 6: 9:15 pace
  • Mile 7: 8:30 pace
Do you run with a running partner or are you more of a solo runner? Have any workout motivation tips? I’d love to hear em!!
Happy Hump Day!
~Sarah
9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Motivation Station

  1. I love having a running partner! But he has been injured and my shoe situation has made for no morning runs! I miss it sooo much. I want that french toast recipe btw, looks sooo good

    • Smore

      It’s from soundeats but her website has been down for the last week! I switched it up a little bit so I’ll post my version this weekend.

  2. I am definitely more of a solo runner because its one of the few times I actually get to just myself. However, I’m going to try to go to a running club’s run sometime next month to give it a shot.

    Love your motivation tips. I agree with them all. Especially the food to look forward to one. I always can’t wait for a yummy breakfast after a good run!

  3. I have to agree with you, breakfast is always my number one motivation every morning. Sometimes I can just dream about the oatmeal I will have the next morning!!

    • Smore

      Well, that’s awesome! I thought I was the only one who fell asleep thinking about breakfast . Favorite time of the day by far.

  4. I haven’t ever run with a partner until Michael moved in..and now it’s really strange (and boring) running alone. I never thought I’d love having someone to run with as I preferred to zone out with music..but since dropping the music and actually trying a partner run, solo just isn’t the same.

    • Smore

      I am always soo surprised at how much I enjoy running partners. There is just something about having someone there to share the miles with.

  5. Oh yes, I totally agree with the run in the morning thing. And the switching thing. Sometimes I just go walking around and talking to people on my cell.

    • Smore

      I do that too sometimes. Going on walks and catching up with people on the phone is always a great way to get in some exercise.

Leave a Reply

