Kind of a Big Deal

It’s Monday and class is canceled. No babysitting on the agenda for today and I knocked my long run out yesterday.

What in the world am I supposed to do with myself? 

Should I blog? Let the world know that I accomplished my second 14 mile run of my life yesterday?

Mm well, alright.

First, let it be known that I’m moving out of my summer apartment in t-minus 3 days and have no food in my pantry and my room has been horrendous. Actually, it’s always a mess but I’m using my nomad ways as an excuse this week. 🙂

The night before my long run I laid out all of my gear like usual.

recycled pic

  • Lucy shorts and top
  • Foot pod/polar watch
  • Brooks Running shoes
  • Thorlo running socks
  • Sports bra
  • house key
  • Nathan water bottle
  • Ipod  NO IPOD!
Yes, I got all of my gear together and could not for the life of me find my ipod. I looked everywhere in my room. Under my bed, drawers, bathroom.. I had no clue. I had 14 miles to run the next morning and even thinking about doing it without music was a very scary thought for me. I totally depend on my music to help “get me in the zone” and pump me up when I need it.
Since, it was already nearing close to 11 pm I went to bed hoping my little ipod’s location would come to me in a dream.

 

No such luck. 

 

I woke up the next morning and still had no idea where it was. Gahh

 

Oh well, there was no way I was going to let my lack of music keep me from tackling my miles that morning.

So, I made myself some PB toast with cinnamon. Three staples every college student should have: bread, peanut butter and cinnamon 🙂 Cheap and filling.

Snapped a bathroom pic (classy) of my excited running self:

Blurry pic.. but can you make out the excitement on my face?? You can't fake that kind of enthusiasm at 5 am!

Actually, you can semi fake that kind of excitement. I knew I was going to tackle my miles but I was a little apprehensive of how the run was going to go.
As soon as I stepped outside I was shocked at how stinkin humid it was. It wasn’t even 6am and I was already sweating. Bad bad bad.

Or so I thought.

The strangest thing happened with the weather during my run. For the first 2 miles it was pretty humid and then all of a sudden I started to see lightening and the clouds became super thick. It looked like it was just going to storm but thankfully it never did. I was nervous that this weather was just going to make everything even more humid but instead it brought a nice cool breeze. I loved it.

Here’s how my run went down this weekend:
Mile 1: 9:25 pace
Mile 2: 9:28 pace
Mile 3: 9:20 pace
Mile 4: 9:10 pace
Mile 5: 8:45 pace
Mile  6: 8:45 pace
Mile 7-9: 9:20 pace
Mile 10: 9:35 pace
Mile 11: 10:30 pace
Mile 12: 10:20 pace
Mile 13: 9:45 pace
Mile 14: 9:25 pace

A nice steady pace the whole time. My goal for my long runs is not time at all right now. All, I want to do is get my body used to running for that amount of time. So, if it takes me 2 + hours to finish a run. I am perfectly okay with that. I just ran 14 miles and that I think is kind of a big deal.
I mapped out my run so I could walk the last two miles (that were uphill) back to my apartment. Definitely, much needed time to stretch out. I felt so tight and I may or may not need new running shoes. I have been using the same shoes since February and think it might be time. Running shoes are just so stinkin expensive. I definitely will need some before Chicago though.

All in all I would say this run went swimmingly. And the whole not having my ipod thing? Totally not a big deal. I was pleasantly surprised at how relaxing it was and easy for me to just get into my own little running zone. I might have to go running sans music more often.

As far as training goes this week I think I’m going to make my longest run 10 miles so I can be ready to knock out 15 miles the next week.

9 weeks until Chicago! 

Now, it’s time for me to finish my last speech for my summer class and catch up on some reading.

Did you run this weekend? Have any races? I wanna know! Do you run with or without music? 

Happy Monday!
~Sarah
12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Kind of a Big Deal

  1. I’ve been working out sans music recently too! More by choice though. I don’t want to become reliant on my music to finish a workout, and it’s more of a mental workout too!

    • Smore

      It is a great mental workout! I was so surprised at how relaxed I was throughout my run. I will definitely be doing that again.

  2. I ran 13mi on Saturday and 5mi on Sunday.I always run with my ipod listening to either music or an audiobook. I just started with the audio book thing and I like it

    • Smore

      WHOO!! A 5 mile run after 13 miles? You are awesome. I like the audiobook idea. I might wanna try that. Do you just download your audiobooks off itunes?

  3. Nice work on your 14 miler! I always have to run with music, there has been times when my IPOD has died and I go crazy.

    • Smore

      Thank you!! I really thought it was going to be terrible without my ipod but I surprised myself at how easy it was for me to just get into my zone. I left my run feeling super relaxed. Definitely recommend working out sans music every once in a while.

  4. Courtney

    I never run or bike or swim with music! I ❤ it; exercise is my time to zone out. Plus, I can never keep headphones/earbuds in my ears, haha. I did run a hot 6.5 hilly run this weekend. Congrats on your 14!! 🙂

    • Smore

      I used to have the ear phone problem too! Maybe my ears just adapted to them? Nice run this weekend! Hilly runs always take soo much out of me. Especially in the heat!

  5. I’m so glad you commented on my blog so it could lead me back to yours! Great job on teh 14 miler, and good call on not doing the LRs for “time.” Really they’re just so your body can get used to time on your feet to prepare yourself for 26.2.

    Sometimes I love to ditch the ipod, especially on early morning runs where it seems like you’re the only one on the earth just runnin’ along. 🙂

    • Smore

      Aren’t morning runs the best? There is something about being up and doing something amazing before the world begins again. I love it.

  6. I recently was forced to do a run without music because my iPod was dead, and I was surprised at how nice it was. I felt like I could get into a better rhythm because I was more in tune with my body- hearing my breathing and the sound of my feet. It was only 6 miles, props to you for going on a long one without!

Leave a Reply

