No Such Thing as a Wasted Run

This whole week I planned to run my 15 miler this morning. I had it all planned out so that I would cross train on Wednesday, rest on Thursday and knock out those 15 miles on Friday.

Well, as we all know from experience planning doesn’t work that well for me. Something always gets in the way of a perfectly thought out plan. And this week that something has a name, Jillian Michaels. 

That’s right J Michaels and I had a slight rendezvous on Wednesday during my cross training workout. I did her 6 week six pack video and let me tell you this is no joke.

{Source}

Although, I do find it strangely amusing that it was not my abs that were sore but my butt! She had me doing lunches and squats like nobody’s business. This was the first time I did squats like that in my life and I don’t plan on ever doing them again.

It was rough. And so was the next day.

So, last night I contemplated moving my long run to Sunday and having today be an easy run/stretch out my sore body day. As I went to bed I was completely set in stone with my decision and ten as I tossed and turned throughout the night it only reinforced to me that this run was just not going to happen. I was certain.

Well, ya know I woke up and did my morning thing: coffee, breakfast and caught up on some blogs. As I’m reading blogs I get more and more inspired to run. The weather looked great and I was only sort of sore still.. I mean how can you not be inspired to get out there when your reading about  Ali’s marathon training and  Meghann’s 40 mile bike ride?!

Anyone? Anyone?

That’s what I thought!

Needless to say, I ran up my stairs, laced up my shoes and was more than ready tackle those 15 miles.

Do you see the excitement??

I’m telling you I was ready for this! I was excited that it was not even 85 degrees outside with what felt like 0% humidity at 8:30 am. This I am not used to and I had to take advantage of it.

So, off I went on my 15 mile 16 mile excursion. My plan was to run a 7.5 mile route out and back which would involve 3 of those miles being on the trails. The first 5 miles went swimmingly. Wonderful actually. I was feelin good. Surprised that my legs felt as good as they did given my previous days exercise. J Michaels has nothin on me.. 

or so I thought..

Once I hit mile 6 I was on the trail and things went from good to bad to worse from there on out.

Some Issues:

1.) Ran out of water: When I’m doing my normal route in my college town I know where all of the water stops are so I can fill up if I need to. Being in Michigan I had no idea where any water was. My Nathan water bottle went to empty too fast too soon. Poor planing on my part. At one point I ran into the country club up the street from my house and asked one of the workers if they could please fill up my water bottle. He looked at me like I had 12 heads and then obliged. I think my sweatiness may have disgusted him but I think he was more than wonderful for filling up my water bottle. Thank you country club water boy! I appreciate you more than you will ever know 🙂

2.) Bathrooms: I’m not sure if Michigan runners have all star bladders or what but there was not one single bathroom on the trail. This I also knew from previous experience so again, poor planning on my part, but still this wasn’t fun and I may have had to run into a McDonald’s just to use their bathroom.

3.) Hills: Again, terrible planning on my part. This whole route was full of hills and I was constantly working my way up and down the whole time. It was exhausting and I did not have fun.

Other things that weren’t so fun: I got hungry.. my jam/toast breakfast didn’t hold me over at all. I need Jif Natural in my life asap. My route had way too many cars near it! It was so hard for me to get into a zone and just go with cars constantly speeding passed me.

Oh and I didn’t have my ipod. 😦

All in all my run was long and it was hard and I was so happy when it was over. I don’t even want to post my times because 1.) I didn’t keep track of them and 2.) I don’t want to know them. 

Once I got home I collapsed on the floor talking to my brother. Exasperated, I told him I just finished the longest 16 miles of my life. He just stared at me with a blank look on his face. And it got me thinking. So what if it wasn’t a great run. I can’t expect every long run to be amazing. I can’t expect to come back from every one of my runs and have that “on top of the world” feeling. Granted that would be nice. Ideal even. But I don’t think I would even want that if I could have it that way. It’s these crumby runs, the runs that make us want to stop dead in our tracks, call a cab and sanction ourselves to the couch for a week that make those “on top of the world” runs really worth it.

So, yea I didn’t have my best run today, in fact I think I had my worst run ever. But I did run 16 miles and for that I am pretty stinkin proud.

What did you do that your proud of yourself for? Run a PDR? Finish a race with a PR? Pick yourself up from a terrible run? Let’s hear it! 

There’s no such thing as a wasted run people. 

Happy Friday!

~Sarah

 

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “No Such Thing as a Wasted Run

  1. That’s how I felt last week after my 14miler! The first 10 or so were great and then I stopped to use the bathroom and it all went downhill. I have 15 on the schedule for tomorrow and am thinking positive thoughts

  2. you’re right – there is no such thing as a wasted run! You got out there and give it your best, and definitely learned something from it. that counts for a lot! I always look at it like any day I can run is a good day, and go from there 🙂

    • Smore

      That’s such a good way to look at it. That’s really one of the reasons why I love running in the mornings because if everything else fails during the day at least I got my morning run in!

  3. You look super cute in that blue running top =]

  4. 16 miles! That’s impressive girl! I wouldn’t worry about your times and be proud of your exhaustion. I’ve only made it up to 10, and I could definitely feel it after. Keep up the hard work!

  5. 16 miles?!? Whoa girl- I am impressed. I also just found your blog and LOVE it! 😀 You’re in michigan? Ha- SO AM I! 😛 Michigan is okay, it has its ups and downs but when I walked my dog this morning I was shocked that there was absolutely no humidity. Glad you took advantage of it.
    This morning I ran 10 miles! (on the treadmill though) and it was amazing. I’m so proud of myself! It was my first 10 miler. I’m working my way up, hopefully I can do 16 like you one day!
    Have a great sunday!

    • Smore

      10 miles on the treadmill?!? You are a champ! The longest I’ve ever ran on a treadmill at once is 5 miles. I have to switch it up between the treadmill and the track if I’m stuck in the gym. I feel like a hamster on the machines if I stay on them for too long!

  6. Awesome job on getting your run done!! I am proud to say I swam my first mile this week!

    • Smore

      Swimming is always such a great workout but I haven’t been able to incorporate it as much as I would like to. A 1 mile swim is very impressive. Nice job!

  7. SO. I just found your blog (yay!) and am also in training for a marathon… and JUST did my PDR of 16 miles yesterday! and I had the same problem. totally ran out of water. gasaraargh. Thinking of investing in a camelbak water pack!

Leave a Reply

