5 Days

In 5 days things will change. I’m not sure what exactly but I feel like after you run 26.2 miles something has to change. One thing is for sure though. I won’t just be a runner anymore; I’ll be a marathon runner. Holy Cow.

I’ve done all that I was supposed to do. I put in the miles, suffered through ice baths and even began working at a bagel place just so I could get discounted carbs to feed by unsatisfiable hunger growls.

kidding. Sort of.

I did really get a job working at a bagel bakery but I have yet to order one. There is something about making breakfast sandwiches for 5 hours straight that really turns a girl off of the whole bagel thang.

But that’s neither here nor there. What I really want to talk about right now is the simple fact that I will be running a marathon in 5 days. A goal I set for myself looong ago that I didn’t think I would even attempt until I was in my mid twenties. At least.

Well, people I’m 21 now and it’s happening. I’m excited. I’m nervous. I’m slightly scared. But in 5 days it’s going to happen.

I’m almost sad that by this time next week I won’t have a training plan to wake up to every morning or that I don’t have to schedule my weekends around my long runs. Is this strange?  What do people do on Sunday mornings when they don’t wake up at 6am to run 20 miles? Do they just wake up and eat pancakes?

That’s boring.  I’m going to need to run first.

Throughout these next few days there are a few things that have to need to happen. I need to make sure I’m getting as much sleep as I can. Especially with the long drive I have ahead of me come Saturday. This girl needs to feel bright eyed and bushy tailed come race day.  Thankfully, I had most of my tests and papers due last week so this week is all about catching up and getting ahead on all of my reading and homework for post marathon week. I won’t be driving back to school until the monday after race day and the last thing I want to do will be homework and reading when I return. These next few days will also be full of stretching and fueling my body with only good foods and really making sure not to over load on the fiber. Fiber overload can be dangerous.. and I don’t want to mess with that monster.. if ya know what I mean.

So, there ya have it. 5 days till my first marathon. I can’t believe it’s almost here. I can’t believe it’s almost over! I’m not ready for this to end..

Here’s a question for you all: Have you ran a marathon?! Any advice? I have 5 days to soak in all of your tips and tricks so tell me!

Happy Tuesday Everyone!

Sarah

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “5 Days

  1. Great job with the training! I know all your hard work will pay off, and you’ll run an awesome marathon in just a few days! I can’t wait to hear from you on the flip side : )

  2. Smore

    Oops! You are so right! Just added the links!

    Sorry about that..

    ~Sarah

Leave a Reply

