Dear 26.2

Dear 26.2,

I gave you 5 months of training and countless miles.

I gave you early nights and even earlier mornings.

I gave you my social life as well as 1.5 of my toenails.

Thank you.

Because what you have given me is by far, so much more, than I could have given you.

From the moment I first really fell in love with running 3 years ago you gave me the confidence I needed to follow my heart and believe in myself.

You gave me a place where I could be me, a place where I could think, a place to “get away”, and a constant place of calm that I could go to throughout these last few years of college life.

I thank you for the confidence you have given me to be comfortable with who I am and be able to stay true to myself in a world where it is easy to get lost in.

I thank you for being a constant place of calm to where I could go and think, get away and to be myself without any distractions.

I thank you for teaching me what it’s like to work really hard at something, set goals for myself and to achieve them.

I thank you for helping me to be thankful for all of the important people in my life that helped me to achieve my goals. If it weren’t for those who woke up at the crack of dawn to ride their bikes with me, hand me gu and talk to me about random anythings to keep my mind off of the milage I would not have been able to do it.

Sincerely,

Sarah

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Dear 26.2

  1. could not have said it better. Great post 🙂

  2. Love this beautiful post! Conrats on your marathon – be so proud, you have earned it 🙂

  3. Errign

    This post is great. I’m a first time visitor to your blog & I wanted to say congrats on your marathon!

  4. Congrats on your marathon! This makes me so excited to start training for mine–unfortunately I have to wait until Christmas to start.

  5. Loved this! I hope to write one myself after my first 26.2.

    … what was your time? Congrats!

Leave a Reply

