Superfood

Happy Tuesday Everyone! I am currently en route to Texas to visit some family for a few days so I thought I would do a quick post and share one of my favorite recipes from this weekend!

Last week I was reading over at Lee’s blog and saw what I thought looked like a genius way to eat your greens!

Source

Yum right?? My thoughts exactly!

I had never had quinoa before and thought it was about time I jumped on that train. And boy am I glad I did! Quinoa is not only delicious but after doing a little bit of research found out that it is jam packed with some pretty good stuff!

Quinoa is such a superfood when it comes to protein that it contains all of the necessary 9 amino acids that are needed to build and repair muscle tissues. And (bonus) because the protein content is so rockin it can be an easy replacement for meat! Repairs muscles? Meat replacement? How am I just now learning about this?  Anyways, quinoa is loaded with antioxidants, magnesium, and is even gluten free! (source)

I think it is safe to say that quinoa will be making a more regular occurrence into my meals.

You should definitely jump on over to Lee’s blog to check out the recipe. It’s super simple and you can make it your own. I toasted some walnuts to add to all of the other flavors.

Perfect side dish to a perfectly wonderful Christmas Eve dinner.

What was your favorite recipe from this weekend?

Other than the cookies and this quinoa would probably have to be the salmon my mom made. Yumm

Have you ever tried quinoa? 

Please someone tell me that I am not the last person here!

What is one food that you have been meaning to try?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Superfood

  1. Love quinoa! It’s so delicious and versatile. I think my favorite dish from the holidays was my sister’s cinnamon raisin bread pudding that she made for brunch on Christmas. So good! Safe travels 🙂

  2. Quinoa is one of my favorites! (Though I did pronounce it kwin-oh-wah for a while until someone corrected me.)
    My favorite thing I’ve eaten this week was definitely apple slices with cheddar cheese. I’ve been on something of an apple kick this week (I think I’ve hit three a day every day? Oops?) and sliced apple with a little bit of cheddar is literally the most delicious. Not particularly exciting but it’s been my snack every day since Saturday!

    • Smore

      hah I pronounced it the same way until my mom corrected me! Apples are always a win in my book. Pretty sure I eat about one a day.. at least!

  3. I loved quinoa! It took me a long time to try it but it’s definitely my favorite grain. I’ve been wanting to try coconut butter for a while- I don’t even like coconut, but I’ve heard so many great things about it that I want to give it a taste!

    • Smore

      I think it’s one of my favorites now too! Super excited about it. I’ve ready so much about coconut butter too! I want to try it but really don’t want to buy a whole jar of it.. maybe I can find a sample somewhere?

  4. Quinoa is super yummy! I dont have it that often though but want to start looking up some more recipes so I can make some for dinner or lunch sometime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

