The Goals Post

I have a few more hours left on the beach and had to make sure I got in one last run wear I could wear shorts this morning! I ran with my mom for 3 miles today and it felt great. I got in an awesome 8 miler yesterday too. I guess those lead legs really did have something to do with all that traveling.. Good thing I got in a run this morning because I get to spend the rest of today in a car and on a plane.

Great news though! Today is not just a traveling day it’s New Years Eve! Are you all aware of this? I’m sure you are considering everyone and their uncle has been making goal and resolution posts for 2012. Well, I decided to jump on that train too! Why not? I love making goals 🙂

That being said I think it’s time I set a few goals for myself. Pretty positive I made some new years resolutions for 2011 but I never wrote them down and well I forgot what they were.

1.) Consistently Blog: This doesn’t mean everyday but at least a few times a week. Something that I am most excited about with this whole blogging thing is being able to go back and recap an entire year! I’ve been having so much fun reading everyone’s 2011 recaps and can’t wait until this time next year to be able to give my own. The good times and the bad times I want to remember them all and have pictures to go along with them!

2.) Keep a running schedule: I’ve signed up for the Rock the Parkway half marathon in Kansas City in April so that will help me to stay on track with my running. I have no idea what my last half marathon time was so my goal time is going to be under 2 hours.

3.) Run a 2nd marathon: In 2011 I ran the Chicago Marathon and it was the best experience of my life. I loved the training and I loved the whole marathon experience. It was amazing. I haven’t decided which marathon I want to run but I do want to shoot for a 4:45 time. My Chicago time was 5:07 and while I know that is kind of a significant amount of time to shave off I sprinted the end of that marathon. My whole goal for that race was just to finish and finish strong. I didn’t know how well I had trained and I feared more than anything hitting a wall and having to drag myself through the final miles. Lucky for me the exact opposite happened and I felt like I could keep running a few more miles! So, that being said a 4:45 time is my goal for 2012!

4.) Be a GOTR Coach: I plan on being a GOTR coach in my college town this next semester and I am so excited. I have had so much fun being apart of GOTR for the last year and I am even more excited to be a coach for the girls. Being apart of the GOTR 5k in November and watching all of the girls finish the race with smiles on their faces was a feeling unlike any other. Such a great organization. If you haven’t heard of it before I strongly encourage you to check it out: Girls on the Run

5.) Save money: I have a certain number that I want to get to in the ol’ bank account by this time next year. With a little saving and self control pretty sure this is very doable. While shopping yesterday I fell in love with quite a few dresses but I walked away and left the store with nothing in hand. That my friends is self control. It was hard but I did it. Now only if I could do that at the grocery store. That is where I need to work on my saving! Extreme couponing anyone? I need to get on that train too.

I love the idea of doing month goals that I read about in the Happiness Project and on Ashley’s blog. I’m thinking each month I’ll write down a few things that I want to work on along with these 5  year long ones. Seems much more attainable to me.

Alright, time to jump in the car and head to San Antonio and then to Chicago and then back up to Michigan. Oh wow.. long day ahead.

Are you a month to month goal setter or are you a fan of year long resolutions?

Plans for New Years Eve? 

Anyone racing a New Years Eve Run?

 

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “The Goals Post

  1. Yay for Chicago Marathoners! Are you doing it again next year? I would love to, but I don’t think I can afford it. I’m so glad I got to do it this year, though- it was such a good experience!

    • Smore

      Oh I know wasn’t it the best?! I don’t think I’ll run it next fall. I would like to but it is a super expensive little venture.. I think I’m going to do one in Michigan where my parents live next year instead.

  2. Great Goals! Can’t wait to see what the New Year brings you!

  3. hope you had safe travels! I like setting both year-long goals and smaller ones weekly, monthly or whatever. I guess I like goals 🙂 I ran a NYE race last night and it felt really weird to be running at midnight…

    • Smore

      A midnight run?! It would be so hard for me to stay up but what a cool way to ring in the new year! I want to look into that for next year!

  4. These are some great goals, girl! I need to save money too – I feel like I buy food every single day because I am always wanting to try new things!

    Travel safe and start the new year off with a bang! xoxo

    • Smore

      Oh that is my same problem! All my money goes to food it’s terrible but oh so good at the same time! Budgeting is something I plan on getting better at in 2012 🙂

  5. I’m totally with ya on saving money!

  6. I really like setting goals and being able to check things off on lists. I have a humongous list of New Years resolutions (but a lot of them are weekly things, so kind of like weekly goals?) Your goals seem great! Good luck with your races, and I’m excited to be able to read your consistent blog posts!

    • Smore

      Weekly goals are great! I guess I do that with running already: try to get in a certain milage throughout the week or run a long run on Sunday. I can incorporate that into other areas easy cheesy. Then I can check things off sooner! Love the feeling of productivity 🙂

  7. Great goals! 🙂 I’ve been saving my money for a few months now and it’s def worth it. 🙂

    Happy 2012!

    • Smore

      Oh yess pretty sure that, along with a workout, is just something you can’t regret! Making money and saving it! College budget at it’s finest! That’s what I’m workin with 🙂

Leave a Reply

