Running It In

Well, the first day of 2012 came and went and I would have to say it came and went quite wonderfully. After a full day of traveling I rang in the new year nestled in my own bed sound asleep. It was bliss.

I planned a run for the next day because what better way to start off the new year than with a rockin run?!

Just in case you would like to know what I wore on my first run of 2012. I know this is super interesting but I stole that jacket from my mom for that run & it is the BEST running jacket I have ever worn. Need ONE now!

I was worried that I was going to be too hot during my run since the temps were close to 40! Except as soon as I stepped outside I knew that I most definitely did not under dress. The wind was killer and it was sprinkling sideways? Not pretty. I planned on doing a 5 mile out and back run but got a little lost and ended up doing a sort of 10 mile loop.

Is it a bad thing that I like to get lost on my runs? I got lost around mile 4 and since I planned early on to do 6 I said to myself, “welp I have 6 miles to find myself” and find myself I did! I had a rocking playlist and in case you were wondering this song will get you out of any future running funk you might go through.

 

Remember it. Love it. Use it. 

Anyways, I eventually found my way out finished up my run and ate the most delicious cranberry walnut bagel I have ever met. I’m a self proclaimed bagel and coffee snob (product of parents) so when I say Herman’s Boy has the best bagels that means serious business. Sad story because there is only one location world wide. That means you all just need to make a little trip up to MI. I will run with you and then we can eat bagels. It will be lovely.

Here are my splits from my 10 miler yesterday. Love being able to share these now!

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 1:32:27.0 10.01 9:14
1 9:29.9 1.00 9:30
2 9:39.2 1.00 9:39
3 9:04.3 1.00 9:04
4 9:00.3 1.00 9:00
5 8:48.2 1.00 8:48
6 8:50.8 1.00 8:51
7 9:08.2 1.00 9:08
8 10:01.4 1.00 10:01
9 9:12.5 1.00 9:12
10 9:06.4 1.00 9:06
11 :06.1 0.01 7:58

andd I need to let the world know that we ate this for dinner last because it was oh so good.

A full on Indian New Years feast complete with chicken tikka and naan bread! Oh my yum. I’ll use any excuse to make butternut squash. Love it. 

How did your first day of 2012 go?

Did you run this weekend?! 

What is your favorite food to make? Italian? Indian? American?! Do you have favorite recipes to go along with it? 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Running It In

  1. Oh my gosh that food looks so good! Butternut squash is the best. And I love Indian food! My best friend from high school is Indian and I miss her mom’s cooking a LOT when I’m at college.
    I went on a run this morning with a friend from school who is visiting from out of town. It was so much fun to take her on a running tour of my city.
    Your running outfit looks pretty sweet!

  2. I agree, what a great way to start the new year! Your dinner looks great!
    My favorite food to make? I have soo many I cant decide! 😛

  3. Great run! I love love love Indian food! But haven’t made it… yet 🙂

  4. I ran on New Year’s Day! I think it’s a great way to start the new year, and sure as hell beats staying in bed with a hangover 🙂

Leave a Reply

